You are in compliance with the mandatory insurance law if you have vehicle liability insurance in the following minimum amounts:
Injury or death of one person in an accident – $25,000
Injury or death of more than one person in an accident – $50,000
Damage to property of another person – $20,000
Your insurance company will send you an insurance card. Keep it in your vehicle and show it upon request by any law enforcement officer.
Your signature on the Vehicle Renewal Registration Application confirms that you will keep your vehicle properly insured throughout that registration period.
Illinois Auto Insurance Enforcement
Enforcement of law the is accomplished through both the issuance of traffic tickets and a random questionnaire sampling process.
If you are involved in an accident or stopped for a traffic violation, a law enforcement officer may issue a traffic citation if you are unable to provide evidence of insurance. If convicted, your license plates will be suspended and you will fined the following amounts:
– minimum $500 fine for driving withouth insurance
–minimum $1,000 fine for driving a vehicle while the license plates are suspended for a previous insurance violation
If the computer randomly selects your vehicle, you will receive a questionnaire asking for the name of your insurance company and policy number. Your answers will be verified with the company you name. If you do not have insurance or fail to return the questionnaire with the requested information, your license plates will be suspended.
Vehicles requiring insurance in Illinois
Liability insurance is required for any motor vehicle that must display a license plate and is being driven, including cars, motorcycles, trucks, RVs, and buses. Trailers are not required to have liability insurance.